Awards and Recognition

We want to thank all our volunteers and members for their contribution to Scouting, and recognise their achievements.

You can use an award to recognise:

  • gallantry and meritorious conduct
  • outstanding and exceptional service
  • long service

Click here for full information on the Awards that are available.

Long service awards are automatically issued; however all other awards require a nomination to be made.

Remember that formal awards are just one way to say thanks. Get more ideas for thanking volunteers and recognising what they do.

Awards for Good Service

There are a number of Good Service awards available to adults in the Scouting movement.

The Thanks Badge

The thanks badge is the means of expressing the appreciation of the Association to those who are not Members or Associate Members but who have been of service to Scouting and is available through Badge Secretaries. It can be awarded by any leader.

Commissioner’s Commendation Award 

This award can be used by the District, County and National Commissioners to recognise adult and youth members and non-members for their contribution to Scouting. This award carries no criteria and is illustrated by a purple knot. It can be worn in the same location on the uniform as other adult awards to denote it is part of the family of adult awards, even though it is awarded and decided locally.

The Chief Scout’s Commendation for Good Service

This award is given in respect of not less than 5 years good service, which stands out.  It should be regarded as the Chief Scout’s recognition of the very real contribution made to the Association by the individual concerned.

The Award for Merit

This award is given for outstanding service of not less than 12 years and 10 years exceptionally.  It implies keen, conscientious, imaginative and dedicated service over a sustained period.

The Bar to the Award for Merit

This may be awarded after a period of not less than five years of further outstanding service.

The Chief Scout’s Personal Award

This is awarded by the Chief Scout, in consultation with the Awards Board to recognise achievement not covered by the criteria for any other awards. It may be accompanied, where appropriate, with a suitable commemorative item.

St George’s Day Awards

The following awards can usually only be awarded for St George’s Day, but can be awarded at other times in exceptional circumstances.

The Silver Acorn

This award is not normally awarded until after at least an Award for Merit has been gained and a further five years’ service has been completed. Thus, it is seldom awarded for less than 20 years service, which should be specially distinguished and appreciably better than outstanding.

The Bar to the Silver Acorn

This may be awarded for at least a further 5 years of similarly distinguished service.

The Silver Wolf

The Silver Wolf is the unrestricted gift of the Chief Scout and is only awarded for service of a most exceptional nature although the Chief Scout will usually consult the Awards Board before awarding it. It is not normally awarded until at least a Silver Acorn has been gained. In practice this means that it is seldom awarded for less than 30 years service although, because it is the Chief Scout’s unrestricted gift, no length of service is prescribed.

Making a Nomination

Anyone can nominate any adult member or associate member for a Good Service Award, as the awards are progressive there are different methods to nominate someone depending on the previous awards they have been presented and the service they have given.

It is advisable to check that they have met the criteria, and the contact the District Commissioner to discuss the next steps.